The order of delimitation commission on Jammu & Kashmir’s electoral segments has come into effect from May 20, 2022 as the Union Ministry of Law and Justice issued a notification in this regard.  “In exercise of the powers conferred by sub—sections (2) and (3) of section 62 of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019 (34 of 2019), the Central Government hereby appoints the 20th day of May, 2022, as the date on which the orders of the Delimitation Commission, Order No. 1, dated the 14th March, 2022 and Order No. 2, dated the 5th May, 2022, published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II, Section 3, Sub-section (iii), vide numbers O.N. 6(E), dated the 14th March, 2022, and O.N. 17 (E), dated the 05th May, 2022, respectively, shall take effect,” reads the notification. On May 5, the delimitation panel headed by former Supreme Court judge Justice (retd.) Ranjana Desai unveiled the final electoral map of Jammu & Kashmir.